Show efficiency achievements. Experience innovation.

The deadline for applications was 15 July 2019. We explain how the competition will continue.


The Energy Efficiency Award honors projects that have a special impact on the energy system transformation.

Award winners

In 2018, 104 energy efficiency projects applied for the Energy Efficiency Award. 72 of the applicants came from Germany, another 32 from Europe and abroad.

The Energy Efficiency Award

Visionary entrepreneurs and pragmatic technicians are the focus of the Energy Efficiency Award. Since 2007, the German Energy Agency (dena) has presented the prestigious award to private and public companies that have achieved outstanding achievements in increasing energy efficiency. The internationally announced award is endowed with prize money totalling 30,000 euros and is under the patronage of the German Economics Minister Peter Altmaier. The Energy Efficiency Award is sponsored by the Federal Ministry of Economics and Energy (BMWi) and supported by the premium partners Danfoss and KfW.

Companies apply for the award by submitting a competition entry to dena. As a rule, four competition categories are available for selection: three for completed energy efficiency projects with measurable results and one category for new, innovative concepts. The jury evaluates all competition entries according to uniform standards based on the criteria of energy saving, relevance to climate protection, cost-effectiveness, degree of innovation and transferability. It then nominates the winners.

The categories

Energy Transition 2.0

The prize is awarded to projects that achieve increases in energy efficiency and also rely on the use of other energy transition technologies. read more

The Energy Efficiency Award in figures

participated since 2007
million t/a
greenhouse gas emissions avoided
billion euros
investment in energy efficiency
saved energy