The Energy Efficiency Award

Visionary entrepreneurs and pragmatic technicians are the focus of the Energy Efficiency Award. The competition of the German Energy Agency (dena) honors projects that have a particular impact on the energy transition. Applications can be submitted by private or public companies from Germany, Europe and the world - regardless of their business size or sector. The award is presented in the categories "Energy Transition 2.0", "Energy Efficiency: from clever to digital", "Energy Services and Energy Management" and "Concepts for Increasing Energy Efficiency".

The award is endowed with prize money totalling 30,000 euros and is under the patronage of the German Federal Minister for Economic Affairs and Energy Peter Altmaier. The competition is supported by the premium partners Danfoss and KfW.

Companies can apply online until 30 June 2019.


The Energy Efficiency Award honors projects that have a special impact on the energy system transformation.

The Jury

The nominated energy efficiency projects and the prize winners were selected by an expert jury made up of representatives from politics, business, science and the media. The jury members will receive all submitted applications for screening. They are obliged to comply with the statutory provisions on data protection and to maintain confidentiality. In a joint meeting, the jury decides in a technical debate. The experts evaluate all submitted energy efficiency projects according to uniform standards based on the criteria of energy saving, climate protection relevance, economic efficiency, degree of innovation and transferability.

The criteria

The technical evaluation of the submitted and accepted applications is based on uniform criteria. For the categories "Energy turnaround 2.0", "Energy efficiency: from clever to digital" and "Energy services and energy management", these are the criteria:

  • Relative energy savings: The reduction in energy requirements achieved by increasing energy efficiency (before/after).
  • CO2 savings: Reduction in CO2 (absolute). The energy savings achieved are evaluated using uniform emission factors for energy sources (according to GEMIS1).
  • Economic efficiency: Ratio of the cost savings achieved by the energy efficiency measures implemented to the investments made.
  • Innovation: Major innovations in terms of technology, production methods, process management, organisation - also in combination. In addition, impulses for further innovations are taken into account.
  • Transferability: Market potential for the realisation of similar projects in other companies (in the sector or across the board).

The assessment of submitted concepts for increasing energy efficiency is carried out analogously to the criteria mentioned by means of a potential assessment. The jury also assesses the plausibility and marketability of the concept.

The nominations

A shortlist of nominated projects will be published in October 2019. Three projects and one concept from the nomination list will be awarded at the dena Energiewende Congress on 25 and 26 November 2019 in Berlin. All nominated companies will be reported to the national and international trade and business press as part of the official media work of the Energy Efficiency Award even before the award ceremony. The published projects are entitled to actively use the nomination for their own corporate communications.

The award ceremony

At the dena Energy Turnaround Congress on 25 and 26 November 2019 in Berlin, the winners of the Energy Efficiency Award will be presented to a large audience of experts with high visibility. The winners of the categories "Energy Turnaround 2.0", "Energy Efficiency: from clever to digital" and "Energy Services and Energy Management" will jointly receive a certificate and prize money of 8,000 euros per category from the Federal Ministry of Economics and Technology and their business partners.

The three nominated companies for the Audience Award will present their concepts for increasing energy efficiency on site at the congress. The audience will then decide in a vote via smartphone which concept will receive this award. The winner will receive a certificate and prize money of 6,000 euros.

Award Categories

Energy Transition 2.0

The prize is awarded to projects that achieve increases in energy efficiency and also rely on the use of other energy transition technologies. read more