Energy Efficiency Award 2016 goes to Austria and Germany

dena has awarded the Energy Efficiency Award to CAPiTA, Pilkington, Thelen and Rauschert.

The winners of the 10th Energy Efficiency Award have now been confirmed. The Deutsche Energie-Agentur (dena) – the German Energy Agency – has awarded the international Energy Efficiency Award to three German companies and one Austrian firm at its annual Congress in Berlin. The first prize went to snowboard manufacturer CAPiTA MFG for the networked heating and cooling concept at its Feistritz site in Austria. The second prize was won by car glass manufacturer Pilkington Automotive Deutschland from Witten, for an energy-saving project in buildings and production that included measurement of consumption. And Thelen Gruppe, a property developer from Essen, picked up the third prize for their renovation and decentralisation of a hall heating system using infra-red technology. For the first time, a fourth company was awarded the Recognition Prize for the utilisation of digital solutions to increase energy efficiency. This award went to Rauschert Heinersdorf-Pressig, a manufacturer of technical ceramics, for developing a digital energy management system based on an innovative current sensor.

‘The award winners,’ dena’s Managing Director Kristina Haverkamp stressed during the awards ceremony at the dena Congress, ‘are trailblazers for real-world innovation in the energy transition. While several awards concentrate on concepts, the Energy Efficiency Award gives pride of place to energy efficiency successes implemented in practice – and has already been doing so for 10 years in a row. By providing these model examples, we want to motivate as many companies as possible to become active themselves.’

The Energy Efficiency Award is endowed with prize money totalling 30,000 euros and is under the patronage of the Federal Minister for Economic Affairs and Energy, Sigmar Gabriel.

The Energy Efficiency Award 2016 is funded by the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy (BMWi) as the result of a decision by the German Federal Parliament. It is presented with the support of dena’s premium partners Danfoss GmbH and DZ BANK AG.

Press contact:
Deutsche Energie-Agentur GmbH, Tom Raulien, Chausseestraße 128 a, 10115 Berlin