Companies can now apply in four competition categories

Submit your application online by 30 June 2020.

read more


How to apply successfully

The Energy Efficiency Award is a showcase for real energy efficiency successes. In addition to the many political and strategic debates on increasing energy efficiency, the award shows how energy efficiency works in practice. The focus is therefore on measurable results and innovative approaches that can be easily transferred to other companies. The award is given to implemented projects in three categories. dena awards the audience prize for the most convincing concept for increasing energy efficiency.

The competition categories relate to fields of action that are relevant to the success of an integrated energy transition. The aim of the integrated energy transition is to coordinate all energy producers and all consumption sectors and combine them into an intelligent energy system so that the goals of reducing climate-damaging emissions can be achieved. For companies, this means that they increase their energy efficiency and, if possible, also make a contribution to optimising the energy system.

Please consider in advance for which of the following categories you would like to submit your application. The project on which the application is based must be completed in your own company or in another company, or described as a concept to be implemented in the future. All private or public companies from Germany, Europe and the world can apply - regardless of their size and industry.

Please also read the conditions of participation for the Energy Efficiency Award 2020 (PDF). By submitting your application, you accept these conditions of participation. This is necessary in order to offer all participants equal and fair conditions.

For an optimal preparation of your application documents we provide you an application guide. This guide explains you step by step which information is required in the application form.
Download application guide for projects  (PDF)
Download application guide for concepts (PDF)

If you have individual questions regarding your application, you can contact the Energy Efficiency Award team at any time by e-mail or by phone at (030) 66 777-830. We will be happy to advise you!

Think Big! Complex energy efficiency projects

For a long time, companies have been implementing multi-layered energy efficiency projects where a large number of measures have to be coordinated with one another. Here systematic thinking and integrated solutions are being sought. Apply in this category if you have realised energy efficiency in interaction with renewable energies, alternative mobility solutions or energy transition technologies such as hydrogen, energy storage, waste heat utilisation etc.


From clever to digital: The broad spectrum of energy efficiency

Apply in this category if you have successfully implemented classic energy efficiency measures or have used digital solutions to reduce energy consumption and emissions. The focus of this category is on energy efficiency in its entire spectrum: from low-investment measures such as energy optimisation of lighting to complex energy-saving projects in conjunction with software solutions, digital sensors and controls.


Achieving more together! Energy Services as enabler of the energy transition

The involvement of service providers is particularly useful where ambitious ideas meet limited funds, resources or lack of expertise. Because external service providers can provide solutions tailored to the needs of the customer. This ranges from the conception and planning of a plant, through its realisation, to financing, operational management and maintenance. Apply in this category if you are a service provider who has successfully implemented an energy efficiency project or energy transition project in another company. Applications are also welcome from companies that have implemented their project by involving third parties and cooperating with energy service providers.


Concepts for carbon neutral companies: Innovative ideas and new approaches for a green economy

The energy transition needs innovative ideas. Companies that pursue new approaches to reduce their energy consumption and greenhouse gas emissions, or conceive the energy transition in cross-sectoral and cross-system terms (or in integrated, holistic terms), can submit their concepts for the Energy Efficiency Audience Award. The concept should demonstrate conclusively which concrete measures should be used to increase energy efficiency and/or reduce emissions in industry, as well as impress the jury by their innovation and market maturity.

Award Categories